So long, Facebook…

I have big news.

No, I’m not pregnant (shudder). But it’s almost as major. I’m taking a Facebook break.

It’s a big deal for me. I *love* Facebook. I love keeping in touch with people, hearing about what’s going on in their lives, looking at their photos. I love posting my own updates, chatting, sharing my own photos. I love the interesting articles I wouldn’t have read unless I’d seen them pop up on someone else’s Facebook feed, the blogs I’ve discovered, and the Kindle recommendations. I love that when I’m logged in, I’m never alone.

So, taking a break is going to be a challenge, but I’m determined to do it. For a start, I waste far too much time on Facebook. Time I should be spending doing this:

Housework

Or this:

Work

Or playing with these:

Children playing

I could be reading, cooking, filling in The Baby’s first year scrapbook (she’s 15 months old, and I’m up to, ooh, about three months), touting for more work… I could go on, but suffice to say I’d have an awful lot more hours in the day if I dragged myself away from the computer.

I’m also finding myself getting increasingly wound-up by Facebook at the moment. I’ll admit that I’m terrible for taking offence where none is intended, misunderstanding people’s intentions, and (while I’m being honest) feeling more than a little paranoid from time to time, and Facebook is fuelling all those things just now. I’m finding myself getting prickly about other people’s posts, taking things the wrong way, and being somewhat over-sensitive and petulant. In short, Facebook is making me more irritable/neurotic/stressed than happy, so it’s time to take a breather.

I’m not sure how long I’ll last. I’m aiming for a week, but it might be more (unlikely) or less (probable). I’m not going to be on total black-out; messages and notifications get delivered to my phone, so I’ll see the things that matter, but what I *won’t* see are the status updates that have me gritting my teeth, or the group discussions that I can’t help getting drawn into, and getting cross about. But I’m determined to see what difference a Facebook amnesty will make to my life. I’m hoping for a cleaner house, fulfilled children, an empty laundry basket and less deadline stress. Optimistic, eh?

I’ll be back, of course. And when I am, I hope it’ll be with a healthier attitude towards Facebook that lets me dip in and out without getting addicted or agitated.

Like I said, optimistic…

10 thoughts on “So long, Facebook…

  1. Good luck with this. I hope it all works out for you. I tried it once and just felt like everyone was talking behind my back the whole time.
    Hopefully we see you back very soon.

  2. I did without it for a week, and only came back then because I had certain friends who couldn’t seem to keep in touch without it. I actually LOVED being free of it – I did more work, stressed less and felt better all round.

    FB has its good and bad points – it’s just so hard to get a balance. I’ve certainly never managed it…

    • I’ve worked out I’ve been using (addicted to) social media for about 12 years. I dread to think how many hours I’ve wasted in that time. You’re right, though; I do rely HUGELY on FB to keep in touch with people – I have very good friends whose email addresses/phone numbers I don’t even know, because we either see each other in person or speak through FB. I’ll be back, without a doubt, but whether I can find a balance is another matter entirely.

      • When we moved house recently we didn’t have broadband at home for 2 weeks. I had to ‘go to an office’ to work during the day and rely upon my ‘useless’ blackberry in the evenings, which was so painful I didn’t bother – it was REFRESHING to be forced to talk to my husband, not be distracted by the PC AT ALL in the evenings …

        I’ve said before that I have no self control so I might have my tech husband turn off the internet between 5 and 8 when the children are around so I can play with them instead of ignoring them!

Leave a Reply

